Class 6th Geography ch-5 Answer 1. (a)The four major domains of the Earth are - Lithosphere, Atmosphere, Hydrosphere and Biosphere. (b)There are 7 major continents of the earth. They are: Asia Europe Africa North America South America Australia Antarctica (c) Two continents that lie entirely in the southern hemisphere are – Australia and Antarctica. (d) The different layers of the atmosphere are : Troposphere Stratosphere Mesosphere Thermosphere Exosphere

- (e) The earth is called the blue planet, because 71% of the earth is covered with water and the remaining 29% makes up the land.
- (f) The northern hemisphere is called land hemisphere, because a major part of landmass lies in it.
- (g) The Biosphere is important for living organisms, because life exists here due to the presence of 3 major components- land, air and water.

- 2. Tick the correct answers.
- (a) The mountain range that separates Europe from Asia is (iii) the Urals
- (b) The continent of North America is linked to South America by(1) an Isthmus
- (c) The major constituent of the atmosphere by per cent is(i) Nitrogen
- (d) The domain of the earth consisting of solid rocks is (iii) the Lithosphere
- (e) Which is the largest continent?(ii) Asia

- Fill in the blanks.
- (a) The deepest point on the earth is Mariana Trench in the Pacific Ocean.
- (b) The Indian Ocean is named after a country.
- (c) The Biosphere is a narrow contact zone of land, water and air that supports life.
- (d) The continents of Europe and Asia together are known as Eurasia.
- (e) The highest mountain peak on the earth is Mount Everest